Western Canadian Music Awards Announce The 2019 Nominees

The Western Canadian Music Alliance is excited to announce the incredible artists and members of the music industry that have been nominated for the 2019 Western Canadian Music Awards. The winners will be announced this fall at BreakOut West in Whitehorse, YT, taking place from October 2-6. The list of nominees can be found below, with the Heritage Award, Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award, and Hall Of Fame inductee to be announced this summer.

“We are excited to share our nominee names for the 2019 edition of the Western Canadian Awards!” exclaims BreakOut West Interim Executive Director, Nathalie Kleinschmit. “We saw nominees from all four western provinces and three northern territories this year, with a strong showing from the north, reflecting the dynamism that is taking place there. Our region is well-represented by the diversity and talent of our artists and the music they bring to the rest of Canada and beyond our borders.”

Voting is now open to members of all western Provincial or Territorial Music Industry Associations. All members will be sent an email regarding login information to vote (beginning today, Tuesday, April 30). Voting will conclude at midnight, Pacific Time, on Friday, May 17. Winners of the artistic categories will be announced on Thursday, October 3 at the WCMAwards Reception in Whitehorse, while the Industry and Specialty Award categories will be presented at the Industry Awards Brunch on Saturday, October 5.


Blues Artist of the Year

Brandon Isaak – BC

David Gogo – BC

Jack Semple – SK

James Buddy Rogers – BC

Ndidi O – BC  

BreakOut Artist of the Year

Dan Mangan – BC

Foxwarren – SK

Nuela Charles – AB

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC

Striker – AB

Children’s Artist of the Year

Ginalina – BC

Raffi – BC

Rattle and Strum – AB

Seanster and the Monsters – MB

The Oot n’ Oots – BC

Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre [CMC])

Land’s End Ensemble – AB

Turning Point Ensemble – BC

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra – MB

Vancouver Chamber Choir – BC

Carmen Braden – NT

Classical Composer of the Year

Allan Gordon Bell – AB

Carmen Braden – NT

Farshid Samandari – BC

Laurie Radford – AB

Owen Underhill – BC 

Country Artist of the Year

Aaron Pritchett – BC

Brett Kissel – AB

Dan Davidson – AB

George Canyon – AB

Hunter Brothers – SK

Electronic / Dance Artist of the Year

Dirty Radio – BC

Humans – BC

I M U R – BC

Soulier – AB

Talltale – AB

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique [APCM])

Alpha Toshineza – MB

Ponteix – SK

Rayannah – MB

Shawn Jobin – SK

Vaero – SK  

Indigenous Artist of the Year

Carsen Gray – BC

Digawolf – NT

Diyet & the Love Soldiers – YT

Hellnback – MB

Northern Haze – NV

Instrumental Artist of the Year

Apollo Suns – MB

Five Alarm Funk – BC

Gordon Grdina’s The Marrow – BC

Signs & Letters – AB

West of Mabou – SK

Jazz Artist of the Year

Al Muirhead – SK

BC Double Quartet – BC

Hard Rubber Orchestra – BC

Jodi Proznick – BC

Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra – MB

Metal / Hard Music Artist of the Year

Hunting Giants – BC

Neck of the Woods – BC

Shooting Guns – SK

Striker – AB

tunic – MB

Pop Artist of the Year

Begonia – MB

Jill Barber – BC

Madison Olds – BC

Royal Canoe – MB

Sarah MacDougall – YT

Producer of the Year

Ben Kaplan, Fader Mountain Sound – BC

Madeleine Roger & Lloyd Peterson – MB

Rayannah & Mario Lepage – MB / SK

Ryan Worsley, Echoplant Sound – BC

Steve Bays – BC

Rap / Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Alpha Toshineza – MB

Bdice – BC

Merkules – BC

Snak the Ripper – BC

Vials – BC  

Recording of the Year

Dan Mangan – BC

Foxwarren – SK

Jill Barber – BC

Pharis & Jason Romero – BC 

Sarah MacDougall – YT 

Rock Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Stingray Music)

Dan Mangan – BC

Foxwarren – SK

Digawolf – NT

Said The Whale – BC

The Sheepdogs – SK

Roots Duo / Group of the Year

Carmanah – BC

GhostBoy – AB

Pharis & Jason Romero – BC 

Rosie & the Riveters – SK

Tri-Continental – AB / BC 

Roots Solo Artist of the Year

Belle Plaine – SK

Joe Nolan – AB

John Wort Hannam – AB

Mariel Buckley – AB

Micah Erenberg – MB

Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored by The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada [SOCAN])

Dan Mangan, Cold In The Summer – BC

Jill Barber and Ryan Guldemond. Girl’s Gotta Do – BC

Mariel Buckley, Rose Coloured Frames – AB

Pharis Romero – Pharis & Jason Romero, Sweet Old Religion – BC

Roman Clarke, Waiting – MB

Spiritual Artist of the Year

Chelsea Amber – BC

Kyle Church – AB


Warren Dean Flandez – BC

West of Here – AB

Urban Artist of the Year

Hooper Turnt Sanger – BC


Samurai Champs – SK


Tiny Havoc – BC

Video Director of the Year

Danie Easton – Madison Olds, Thank You – BC

Eric Peterson – Yes We Mystic, Young Evil – MB

Johnny Jansen – Said The Whale, UnAmerican – BC

Peter Ricq – Humans, Breakfast With Liz – BC

Travis Nesbitt – The Dungarees, Don’t Hold Back – AB

Visual Media Composer of the Year

Brett Elliot – Church of Zombie, Welcome to the Church – YT

Burnett/Schmidt, Reawaken (Movements I-V) – AB

Jared Robinson, Canadian Mental Health Association 100 Year Anniversary – SK

Jeffery Straker, The Storm Orchestral – SK

Tim Brown, Run for Your Life – AB

World Artist of the Year

Buckman Coe – BC

Montuno West – AB

Portiia – BC

Ryan Timoffee – AB



Audio Engineering Award

Ben Kaplan, Fader Mountain Sound – BC

Scott Franchuk, Riverdale Recorders – AB

Sheldon Zaharko, Zed Productions – BC

Spencer Cheyne, OCL Studios – AB

Steve Bays – BC 

Community Excellence Award

National Music Centre – AB

The Dungarees – 24 Hour Gigathon – AB

The Park Show – BC

The Village Idiots – MB

West End Cultural Centre – MB

Excellence in Visual Design

Bronwin Parks – Feisty Creative – BC

Chris Morin – SK

Jadyn Klassen – MB

Roberta Landreth – MB

Shalom Toy – Cosmic Cavern Design – AB

Impact in Artistic Development

Dan Mangan, Arts & Crafts Productions – BC

Jessica Marsh, JAM Music Mgmt – AB

National Music Centre – AB

Paquin Artists Agency – MB

The Feldman Agency – BC

Impact in Live Music

Adam Oppenheim – Stampede Entertainment Inc. – AB

Dan Mangan – Arts & Crafts Productions – BC

Paquin Artists Agency – MB

West End Cultural Centre – MB

Winnipeg Folk Festival – MB

Impact in Music Marketing

Matt Olah – Calgary Folk Fest / Soaring Eagle Records – AB

National Music Centre – AB

The Village Idiots – MB

West End Cultural Centre – MB

Winnipeg Folk Festival – MB 

About BreakOut West

BreakOut West is an annual gathering to celebrate, develop and support the best of western Canadian music, taking place this year in Whitehorse, Yukon from October 2-6, 2019. Western Canadian artists are developing sustainable careers of national and international scope, and BreakOut West is an integral component of this development. Through the annual conference and festival, industry from around the world and western Canadian artists are given the opportunity to connect, share their talent, explore opportunities and grow. The event consists of the BreakOut West Festival, with over 100 shows, the Western Canadian Music Awards, as well as the conference itself with educational panels, networking events, and so much more. 

The Western Canadian Music Alliance is funded in part by the six provincial and territorial governments of western Canada. BreakOut West and the Western Canadian Music Awards are generously funded by FACTOR, Musicaction, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters, along with Whitehorse host partners, and event sponsors and funders, notably the Government of Yukon. 

Related posts