New Music: John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection 2 CD

Photo by Richard DiLello © Yoko Ono Lennon

John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection 

Legendary Artist’s Iconic Debut Solo Album Sessions Explored With Suite Of Releases In Celebration Of 50Th Anniversary

Yoko Ono Lennon and Capitol/UMe/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company, celebrate 50 years of Lennon’s transformational and influential masterpiece with the expansive super deluxe box set, John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection, an immersive, deep listening experience and in-depth exploration of what John described as “the best thing I’ve ever done.” 

Fully authorized by Yoko Ono Lennonwho oversaw the production and creative direction, and from the same audio team that worked on 2018’s critically acclaimed Imagine – The Ultimate Collection, including triple GRAMMY®-Award-winning engineer Paul Hicks and mixers/engineers Rob Stevens and Sam Gannon, the Ultimate Collection puts listeners in the center of the studio and explores the album’s 1970 recording sessions at EMI Studios 2 & 3, Abbey Road along with Lennon’s post-Beatles singles, “Give Peace A Chance,” “Cold Turkey” and “Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)“.

John Lennon Yoko Ono Cover Art
John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection 2 CD Cover Art

The Ultimate Collection offers a variety of new listening experiences that are at once immersive and intimate, ranging from the brand new Ultimate Mixes of the timeless album, which put John’s vocals front and center and sonically upgrade the sound, to the Elements Mixes, which isolate and bring forth certain elements from the multitrack recordings to reveal even deeper levels of detail and clarity, and the Raw Studio Mixes, which allows listeners to experience the moment John and The Plastic Ono Band recorded each song, mixed raw and live without effects, tape delays or reverbs. The Evolutionary Documentary is a unique track-by-track audio montage that details the evolution of each song from demo to master recording via instructions, rehearsals, recordings, multitrack exploration and studio chatter. The Blu-rays present an array of listening options including high-definition, studio-quality 192kHz/24bit audio in stereo and enveloping 5.1 Surround and Dolby Atmos mixes.

John Lennon:Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection Super Deluxe Edition
John Lennon / Plastic Ono Band – The Ultimate Collection Super Deluxe Edition



  1. Mother
  2. Hold On
  3. I Found Out
  4. Working Class Hero
  5. Isolation
  6. Remember
  7. Love
  8. Well Well Well
  9. Look At Me
  10. God
  11. My Mummy’s Dead
  12. Give Peace A Chance
  13. Cold Turkey
  14. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)


  1. Mother/Take 61
  2. Hold On/Take 2
  3. I Found Out/Take 1
  4. Working Class Hero/Take 1
  5. Isolation/Take 23
  6. Remember/Rehearsal 1
  7. Love/Take 8
  8. Well Well Well/Take 2
  9. Look At Me/Take 2
  10. God/Take 27
  11. My Mummy’s Dead/Take 2
  12. Give Peace A Chance/Take 2
  13. Cold Turkey Take 1
  14. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)/Take 1


Related posts