Great Big Sea – XX

(Warner Music Canada) Great Big Sea celebrate their 20th anniversary with two releases. First is a two-CD set, one CD focusing on the pop releases and the second CD spotlights their folk/sea shanty side. Combined with five new songs; including Live This Life and covers of Slade’s `Run Runaway’, Split Enz’s `Six Months On A Leaky Boat’, Pete Townshend’s `Let My Love Open The Door’ and The Tremeloes `Here Comes My Baby’, this double CD features a total of 40 songs. But that’s not all! There’s also a 60-song deluxe boxed set which, on top of the two CD’s, also features an alternative/outtakes CD titled Rogue Waves, and Audio 1993 interview with CBC St John’s and a DVD focusing on backstage and studio activities. Add to this a 102-page book, two posters, two lyric sheets, a calendar, laminates, stickers, seaweed and a frozen cod (just joking on the last two items) and you have a package that is all things Great Big Sea. The great thing about this monster set by members Alan Doyle, Sean McCann and Bob Hallett is that all the songs are so live sounding that it seems the entire recording was executed in somebody’s kitchen…maybe it was.

Suggested Downloads: Live This Life, Consequence Free, Six Months In A Leaky Boat

XX - Great Big Sea

Related posts