Canadian Music Week Announces Performers for the 2018 Canadian Radio Music Awards

CMW is proud to announce the performers for the 21st Annual Canadian Radio Music Awards (CRMA) on Wednesday, May 9th at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel

The CRMA ceremony will feature performances by first time charting and nominated artists 

New City, Felix Cartal, ROMES, River Town Saints, and The Reklaws.

The ceremony will be hosted by Toronto born-and-raised comedian and actor K. Trevor Wilson as seen on Letterkenny.

The Canadian Radio Music Awards will spotlight first-time charting artists on the airwaves. Jessie Reyez, Dvbbs and New City lead in nominations.

The CRMA Nominees include artists who have hit the Canadian charts for the first time and who have achieved top airplay in different formats based on radio “spins,” as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) in 2017. Votes cast by program directors, music directors, and on-air personalities determine the winners.
Awards will be presented on stage for Music Director of the Year Major Market and Music Director of the Year Secondary Market
New awards added to this year’s event include: 
 Talent Development Story of the Year Award (presented to the artist and their team) This Award shall be solely based upon Nielsen’s Emerging Artist chart, which factors Streams, Digital Song downloads and Airplay to determine the artist with largest outcome of said metrics during the applicable period. 
– Nielsen BDS Cutting Edge Award (presented to the station that was first to play the most Canadian songs that went on to reach the top 20 on the weekly Nielsen BDS format charts.

Other award categories include: AC, CHR, Dance/Urban/Rhythmic, Rock, and Country as well as Fans’ Choice.


Full list of previously announced nominees here. Radio listeners from across the country can vote online for the Fans’ Choice Award here.

Related posts