Surprise! Weezer (The Teal Album) Is Here! The Covers Album Out Now

Throughout a sold-out arena tour in summer 2018, Weezer began working covers into their set, ranging from “Take On Me” by a-ha to “Happy Together” by The Turtles, in addition to their massive cover of “Africa” by Toto, which became a viral and radio sensation upon its release earlier that year.  Given the tremendous response to these songs at the shows, the band was inspired to put together a covers album — and thus WEEZER (THE TEAL ALBUM) WAS BORN!

It’s also out today via Crush Music/Atlantic Records.  Click HERE to listen to it.  A track listing for the album is below as well.

Weezer (The Teal Album) precedes the band’s forthcoming new album of original Weezer songs, Weezer (The Black Album), which will be released on March 1, 2019.  Weezer (The Black Album) was produced by TV On The Radio’s Dave Sitek, with whom the band worked for the first time.  The album’s songs were entirely written on piano by frontman Rivers Cuomo for the first time in Weezer history, creating some of the most satisfyingly awesome songs in the entire hits-filled Weezer catalogue.

With band members switching up instruments in the studio, and choruses filtered through Sitek’s own encyclopedic musical references of everything from Gorillaz to Can to Pink Floyd, Weezer (The Black Album) is the bold next step in the winning streak of acclaimed albums they’ve released since 2014.  The album’s current song, “Can’t Knock The Hustle,” recently became the band’s sixteenth Top Ten single at Alternative Radio.  

As previously announced, Weezer will be returning to the road with Pixies this spring for a run of highly anticipated North American arena dates, including a recently announced headlining stop at New York City’s prestigious Madison Square Garden with special guests TV On The Radio. They will then hit Coachella’s Main Stage before heading to Europe for a number of dates and festivals. Tour dates are below.

Weezer (The Teal Album) track listing:

1.  Africa (Toto)

2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Tears for Fears)

3. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) (The Eurythmics)

4. Take On Me (a-ha)

5. Happy Together (The Turtles)

6. Paranoid (Black Sabbath)

7. Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)

8. No Scrubs (TLC)

9. Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)

10. Stand By Me (Ben E. King)


3/8/19              Louisville, KY @ KFC Yum! Center

3/10/19            Columbia, SC @ Colonial Life Arena

3/12/19            New York, NY @ Madison Square Garden

3/13/19          Montreal, QC @ Bell Centre

3/14/19            Albany, NY @ Times Union Center

3/16/19            Mashantucket, CT @ Foxwoods Resort Casino

3/17/19            Baltimore, MD @ Royal Farms Arena

3/19/19            Columbus, OH @ Schottenstein Center

3/20/19            Grand Rapids, MI @ Van Andel Arena

3/22/19            Memphis, TN @ FedEx Forum

3/24/19            St. Louis, MO @ Enterprise Center

3/26/19            Kansas City, MO @ Sprint Center

3/27/19            Tulsa, OK @ BOK Center

3/28/19            Des Moines, IA @ Wells Fargo Arena

3/30/19            St. Paul, MN @ Xcel Energy Center

3/31/19            Madison, WI @ Alliant Energy Center

4/5/19              Nampa, ID @ Ford Idaho Center Arena

4/6/19              Portland, OR @ Moda Center

4/7/19             Vancouver, BC @ Rogers Arena

4/9/19              Sacramento, CA @ Golden 1 Center

4/10/19            Oakland, CA @ Oracle Arena

4/12/19            Las Vegas, NV @ Mandalay Bay Event Center

4/13/19            Indio, CA @ Coachella

4/20/19            Indio, CA @ Coachella


29 June           London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton

2 July              Hamburg, DE @ Stadtpark

4 July              Utrecht, HL @ Tivoli Vredenburg

7 July              Bologna, Italy @ Sonic Park

8 July               Zurich, CH @ Xtra

Related posts