Guys Rule At 2017 CCMA Awards





Brett Kissel - Male Artist of The Year
Brett Kissel – Male Artist of The Year

It was a case of guys’ rule at the 2017 Canadian Country Music Awards staged Sunday at Saskatoon’s SaskTel Centre with Dean Brody and Brett Kissel claiming three awards each and Dallas Smith snagging two during the awards ceremony telecast nationally on CBC.

Smithers B.C native Brody claimed the Apple Music Fan’s award, Songwriter Of The Year and Top Selling Single for “Bush Party” while Flat Lake Alberta’s Brett Kissel claimed Male Artist, Video Of The Year (for “I Didn’t Fall In Love With Your Hair) and Interactive Award.

Langley B.C native, Dallas Smith, who has chalked up four hit singles, claimed two awards; Best Album (`Side Effects’) and Single of The Year (“Autograph) while Hamilton’s Road Hammers (comprising of Jason McCoy, Clayton Bellamy and Chris Payne) were popular winners of the Top Group/Duo award.

The Washboard Union w/ Meghan Patrick
The Washboard Union w/ Meghan Patrick

Vancouver’s Washboard Union took home The Roots Artist Award while Meghan Patrick of Bowmanville, Ontario continued her rapid rise to stardom by winning both Female Artist and Rising Star Awards.

Sunday also saw Paul Brandt inducted into CCMA’s Hall Of Fame while Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan’s Kalsey Kulyk claimed the CCMA Discovery Award.

The evening’s activities also included live performances by Smith, Kissel, Brody, Patrick and Washboard Union as well as Jim Cuddy, Tim Hicks, Jess Moskaluke, Madeline Merlo, High Valley, Gord Bamford plus appearances by international stars Blake Shelton and Brett Young.






Related posts