Big Sugar Celebrates the Release of Eternity Now with a Live-Stream Album Performance this Friday, May 8 at 10pm ET

Tune-in here to the Eternity Now live-stream album release performance

Album available for pre-order HERE

Big Sugar will be releasing its brand-new studio album Eternity Now next Friday, May 8, via Universal Music Canada. Initially scheduled to drop at the end of March and with a robust Canadian touring schedule planned to support the launch, all live shows continue to be postponed due to Covid-19. After having to cancel their planned album release party at an iconic concert hall in Toronto, Gordie Johnson is now planning an innovative live-streaming event. With the band under shelter-in-place orders, Johnson will be in his studio playing and singing live to the album tracks, creating an intimate and complete musical show. Gordie will be performing the entirety of Eternity Now via live-stream on Fri., May 8 beginning at 10pm ET (see here for link).

“Eternity Now was written and recorded in the aftermath of many tragic life-changing events both within and beyond our control,” explains Gordie and Alex Johnson. “As we banish the past to eternity and stride forward with renewed optimism, the message has become more relevant than ever. With the present-day challenges posed by the pandemic, it is our wish that people will be able to enjoy our new music but also connect with the universal themes within. Whether it helps you to heal, to hope, to grieve or just groove, we share with you Eternity Now.”  

Grammy-nominated Gordie Johnson applies his signature 1970s thump and psycho-acoustic dub effects throughout the production of Eternity Now. Recorded and mixed at his Sound Shack Studio in Austin, Texas, the album was written and composed entirely by Gordie and Alex, resulting in a deeply personal record. Each track is rooted in his history of depression, addiction, self-destruction and redemption. After band-member defections and dealing with the death of Rasta elder and longtime band member Garry Lowe in July 2018, Eternity Now as an album and “The Better It Gets” as the first single, represent the next chapter in their personal lives and that of the band. This first studio album in five years sees Big Sugar thriving on a new wave of energy, enthusiasm and optimism.

Big Sugar
Big Sugar

You can hear the magic flying between Johnson and his diverse troupe. This is a new kind of magic: a shiny alchemy that complements their hard-won transformation. The leaner, cleaner rock and roll sound swings from Tejano border rock to prog and psychedelia thanks in part to a guest appearance by Alex Lifeson of Rush on the title track. Gordie Johnson’s Big Sugar includes longtime friend and bassist Big Ben Richardson, keyboard and percussionist Alex Johnson, Rey Arteaga a master of Afro Cuban rhythms on congas, and Reggae drummer Richard Brown.

Album track-list:

  1. Eternity Now (feat. Alex Lifeson)
  2. Love Is Alive 
  3. The Better It Gets
  4. Wonder Woman
  5. Anything Is Possible
  6. New Event Horizon
  7. Ultra Violet
  8. Strange Spectacular
  9. Everything You Want It To Be

Additional information on upcoming shows can be found on the band’s social channels and website

About Big Sugar

In the 90s Big Sugar emerged clad in Hugo Boss suits as the antithesis to the grunge esthetic with a unique combination of Jamaican rhythms, blues tonality and heavy rock aggression. They dominated the airwaves and highways with songs like “Diggin A Hole,” “The Scene,” “Turn The Lights On” and “Roads Ahead.” Their roots-rock-reggae style has built a loyal following, earning Big Sugar a Road Gold Award as they continue to sell out concerts across North America. Gordie Johnson’s guitar playing continues to influence a new generation of young guitarists as well as peers. To quote lyrics from the first single off the upcoming new album Eternity Now, “The better it gets, the easier it gets to get better.”

Follow Big Sugar:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Related posts