Canadian indie-rock royalty Sloan releases their remarkable 13th studio album ‘Steady’

Canadian indie-rock royalty Sloan releases their remarkable 13th studio album ‘Steady’ through Murderecords/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Steady follows Sloan’s 2018 record 12 and marks the 30th anniversary of their beloved debut record, Smeared, which came out in October 1992.

Sloan are one of the rare bands to make it to their 13th album, with all four original members who are equally prolific songwriters and all still working at the top of their respective games, sounding utterly ageless in the process. 

The album title reflects Sloan’s impressive 30-year feat; bassist/vocalist Chris Murphy explains, “they say if you want to go fast, go alone but if you want to go far, go together. I don’t know if there are many other bands you can name that are still making records with their original lineup 30 years in. Look it up!”

Leading into the album release, Sloan released four tracks, including “Magical Thinking,” which Brooklyn Vegan noted as “a classic Sloan power-pop number with just a little glam to go along with its crunch, catchy chorus.” As well as “Scratch The Surface” which was released with the first music video from the band in 10 years and “Spend The Day” which kicked off the Steady stream of new music. See below for the full track listing.

“Dream It All Over Again” was also released ahead of the album and contains the poignant lyric “If you wait a while, then we’ll be back in style.” Guitarist/vocalist Jay Ferguson makes note, “perhaps it’s a potential hat-in-the-ring for the subtitle of a Sloan memoir? I’d say the lyric contains some musing about our band Sloan, our faithful audience, and a grateful acknowledgement that we’re still able to do this over 30 years since our band began. 

This song was almost on our last album, but I think it’s been given a new energetic recording this time around. A video for the song is forthcoming. Directed by Chris Murphy and our friend/guitar tech, Haris Cehajic, it looks like the Steady album cover come to life. Happy it’s here as a single in 2022!”

Sloan - Photo by Calm Elliot-Armstrong
Sloan – Photo by Calm Elliot-Armstrong

Other notable tracks include “Human Nature” which Murphy depicts “is a song about gossip and how we all know it’s terrible but how we sometimes participate in it. The song goes on to suggest that being the subject of gossip might not be as bad as being ignored.” 

Ferguson describes “She Put Up With What She Put Down” as “a condensed, fictitious portrait of a talented woman who earns their living by fixing copy, ghost-writing or reviewing the work of more visible but less remarkable individuals” and drummer/vocalist Andrew Scott outlines “Close Encounters” as “a song written to process the threat of COVID, living/dying, people and social responsibility if it was a meal the recipe would be:

 – 4 tbsp Black Sabbath
– 1/4 cup of Genesis ( finely diced )
– 3 dashes of Rolling Stones
– 2 lbs Motörhead ( roughly chopped )
– Season w Earth Wind and Fire
– Bake at 425* for an hour
– Serve immediately

The band celebrates their album release tonight with a SOLD-OUT intimate launch event at Sonic Boom record shop in Toronto, where the band will perform new songs off the album and a few classics plus a live Q&A hosted by Alex Hudson (Exclaim). Fans will receive an exclusive ‘Sloan Steady’ lager courtesy of Collective Arts Brewing Co.

Sloan have just announced a run of Canadian tour dates this fall and early next year, bringing their beloved, energetic live show across the country.

See below for a full list of upcoming tour dates.
Link to ticket outlets.

Steady Tracklisting

  1. Magical Thinking
  2. Spend The Day
  3. She Put Up With What She Put Down
  4. Human Nature
  5. Scratch The Surface
  6. Panic On Runnymede
  7. Dream It All Over Again
  8. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  9. Simply Leaving
  10. Close Encounters
  11. I Dream Of Sleep
  12. Keep Your Name Alive 

Upcoming Shows:
October 27                   Toronto, ON                 Phoenix Concert Theatre
November 23                Hamilton, ON                Studio Theatre @ Hamilton Place
November 24                Waterloo, ON               Maxwell’s
November 25                London, ON                  London Music Hall
November 26                Oshawa, ON                  Biltmore Theatre
January 27, 2023           Summerside, PE            The Harborfront Theatre
January 28, 2023           Halifax, NS                    LightHouse Arts Centre
January 29, 2023           Moncton, NB                Capitol Theatre
February 1, 2023           Montreal, QC                Café Campus
February 2, 2023           Ottawa, ON                   Bronson Centre
February 3, 2023           Kingston, ON                 Blu Martini
March 2, 2023               Sidney, BC                     Charlie White Theatre
March 3, 2023               Cumberland, BC            The Waverley
March 4, 2023               Vancouver, BC               Commodore Ballroom
March 7, 2023               Lake Country, BC           Creekside Theatre
March 8, 2023              Nelson, BC                    Spirit Lounge
March 9, 2023              Calgary, AB                   Dickens Pub
March 10, 2023             Red Deer, AB                Bo’s Bar and Grill
March 11, 2023             Edmonton, AB               Station on Jasper
March 13, 2023             Saskatoon, SK                Amigo’s Cantina
March 14, 2023             Winnipeg, MB               Good Will Social Club
March 15, 2023             Winnipeg, MB               Good Will Social Club

Related posts