2016 MusiCounts Fred Sherratt Award Recipients Announced

Toronto, ON – MusiCounts, Canada’s music education charity associated with The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS), hosted an intimate tour in Toronto yesterday to fête the 2016 Fred Sherratt Award recipients who exhibit extraordinary talent, leadership, prowess and potential in the music industry.
This year’s celebrations included a visit to Universal Music Canada; a tour of the SOCAN offices, the Bell Media headquarters and Noble Street Studios; and an industry Music Mixer hosted by The Spoke Club where the recent graduates had access to insight and experience from a range of executive-level music industry professionals in attendance. Award-winning broadcasting pioneer Fred Sherratt was onsite to congratulate the 11 of the 12 recipients present who were selected from post-secondary music programs across the country.
Fred Sherratt

“It’s such an honour to celebrate and be a part of these awards,” said Fred Sherratt. “It was inspiring to see so many promising young graduates gaining insight from industry leaders who have made a great name for themselves in the music world. I know there is a bright future ahead of all 12 recipients.”

The annual award was first launched in 2008 in partnership with Bell Media and named in honour of award-winning broadcast innovator Fred Sherratt. It recognizes the outstanding achievement, talent, and leadership of graduating music program students and aims to assist the recipients in their transition from school to career. Each student awarded received $2,500 and a trip to Toronto to attend an educational day of networking and touring top Canadian music industry institutions.
“This is a really gratifying day for MusiCounts,” said Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards & MusiCounts. “I have been doing this for 30 years, and it’s an absolute honour to be able to pass along wisdom and host the next generation of music. This award is in honour of Canadian broadcasting pioneer Fred Sherratt, who we were so pleased to have with us this evening. And without Bell Media, we would not be able to make this happen.”
The 2016 MusiCounts Fred Sherratt Award recipients are:

Andrew Giardino, Trebas Institute – Montreal, QC

Brendan Lyons, Grant MacEwan University – Edmonton, AB

Dean Thiessen, Capilano University – Vancouver, BC

James Julian Villa, Selkirk College – Castlegar, BC

Mary Murrill, Harris Institute – Toronto, ON

Matthew Maclennan, St. Francis Xavier University – Antigonish, NS

Nick Montreuil-Spencer, Musitechnic – Montreal, QC

Nicholas Reyno, Fanshawe College – London, ON

Robert Fearey, Red Deer College – Red Deer, AB

Robert Fernandes, The Banff Centre – Banff, AB

Sandor Schwisberg, Humber College – Toronto, ON

Tyan Juan, The Art Institute of Vancouver – Vancouver, BC

Related posts