The Trews Back to the Future


Toronto, ON – Beloved Canadian rockers The Trews are simultaneously looking back and forward with their latest album Time Capsule, available September 9, 2016 via HOME Music  / Entertainment One. The 20-track collection gathers 16 of the band’s biggest hits and fan favourites including “Not Ready To Go,” “So She’s Leaving” and “Highway Of Heroes,” along with four brand new recordings: “Beautiful & Tragic,” “Lotta Work/Little Love,” “Sing Your Heart Out,” and “Chinese Kites.”
For founding members Colin MacDonald (vocals/guitar), John-Angus MacDonald (lead guitar) and Jack Syperek (bass), Time Capsule represents a chance to take stock of what they’ve accomplished since the release of their debut album House Of Ill Fame in 2003, while formally beginning a new chapter with drummer Gavin Maguire, who officially joined The Trews in 2015. The new tracks indeed show that the band has lost none of its rock ‘n roll fire, with the radio single “Beautiful & Tragic” – a collaboration with Serena Ryder – notably tipping its cap to ’70s glam rock.  
The band will be once again partnering with PledgeMusic to presale the album.  The campaign will feature a number of exclusive experiences, merchandise and an additional rarities and B-Sides album.
“Even though we’ve been around for a while, we’re still competitive,” Colin MacDonald says. “We still feel like we have something to prove, and I think that’s kept The Trews going for so long. We’re always looking ahead in the distance and wondering how to get there. I don’t think that’s ever going to stop.”
John-Angus MacDonald adds, “We plan on doing the next record hot on the heels of this one. We’re a slightly different sounding band – inevitable with a line-up change – and these four new songs are pointing the way forward.”
Originally formed in the late ’90s in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, prior to relocating to Toronto, The Trews have been one of Canada’s most successful rock bands of the past decade, earning 16 Top 10 Rock radio singles (including two #1’s) and two Gold-certified albums (House Of Ill Fame; Den Of Thieves). The quartet has also received multiple East Coast Music Awards, an Independent Music Award (US) in 2009 for Best Rock / Metal Song, and numerous JUNO Award nominations.
To date, The Trews have played over 1,000 shows worldwide, on their own as well as supporting the Rolling Stones, KISS, Robert Plant, Guns ‘n Roses, Kid Rock and Bruce Springsteen.
Listen To Beautiful & Tragic HERE
Time Capsule – Track List:

1. Lotta Work/Little Love 
2. Not Ready To Go 
3. Tired of Waiting 
4. So She’s Leaving 
5. Yearning 
6. Poor Ol’ Broken Hearted Me 
7. Ishmael & Maggie
8. Hold Me In Your Arms 
9. Paranoid Freak 
10. Man of Two Minds 
11. Can’t Stop Laughing 
12. Sing Your Heart Out (studio version) 
13. Beautiful & Tragic 
14. Highway of Heroes
15. Hope and Ruin
16. Power of Positive Drinking
17. In the Morning 
18. What’s Fair is Fair
19. Rise in the Wake
20. Chinese Kites

Related posts