Wintersleep premiere The Great Detachment‏


ImageProxy (1)
Wintersleep streams The Great Detachment via Clash Music
Album available March 4 via Dine Alone Records
Set to Perform at SXSW
Stream it here:
“[‘Amerika’ is] a big, bold song, revolving like a slow-motion tornado around huge guitars, a booming rhythm and singer Paul Murphy’s plangent vocals that take on a chant-like quality on the chorus.” – The Wall Street Journal
“[‘Santa Fe’] feels like a trip to the beach…It’s short, sweet, and full of moments.” – Noisey
“[‘Territory’ is] a muscular, hard-driving track that builds to a bright, yearning chorus.” – Rolling Stone

MONTREALWintersleep has unveiled the full stream to their highly-anticipated new album The Great Detachment exclusively on Clash Music – [LINK] click here to stream the 11-track collection in full. The album is releasing this Friday, March 4th via Dine Alone Records. It is available for pre-order and includes instant downloads of the singles “Amerika,” “Santa Fe” and “Territory,” which features Rush frontman Geddy Lee on the bass.

Lead single “Amerika” has received support on both sides of the pond. In Canada, it was the #1 most added track at commercial Alternative and Active Rock radio for weeks, and now sits in the Top 5 at Active Rock and Top 10 at Alternative Rock. Over in the UK, it’s gotten serious play on BBC Radio 2 and support from Zane Lowe on Apple Music’s Beats 1.

Two years in the making, The Great Detachment marks a return to the organic approach of the band’s earlier works that simultaneously sees them reaching new pinnacles of songwriting and production. The album was recorded at Halifax’s Sonic Temple (the birthplace of Welcome To The Night Sky and its preceding 2003 self-titled and 2005 untitled efforts) with producer Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai). The collection delivers a welcome dose of the atmospheric, entrancing alt-rock for which the band has become known, with beautifully orchestrated arrangements anchored by haunting, almost hypnotic melodies.

Wintersleep celebrate the release of the album with a Canadian tour throughout March, as well as a stop in Austin, TX for SXSW. Full tour dates are listed below. Please for ticket information.

The Great Detachment track listing:
1. Amerika
2. Santa Fe
3. Lifting Cure
4. More Than
5. Shadowless
6. Metropolis
7. Spirit
8. Freak Out
9. Love Lies
10. Territory
11. Who Are You
Tour Dates
3/1    Kingston, ON @ The Grad Club
3/2    Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB
3/3    Ottawa, ON @ Ritual
3/4    Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
3/5    Hamilton, ON @ The Casbah
3/15-18    Austin, TX @ SXSW
3/23    Calgary, AB @ The Gateway at SAIT
3/24    Kelowna, BC @ Habitat
3/25    Vancouver, BC @ Commordore Ballroom
3/26    Victoria, BC @ Sugar Nightclub
3/29    Edmonton, AB @ Starlite Room
3/30    Saskatoon, SK @ The Broadway Theatre
3/31    Winnipeg, MB @ Park Theatre

Related posts