Trooper dominate SOCAN awards

Trooper, Bruce Cockburn and Joel Zimmerman (a/k/a Deadmau5) were the big winners at the 23rd annual SOCAN Music Awards staged Tuesday November 19th at Toronto’s Roy Thompson Hall.

Trooper’s Ra McGuire and Brian Smith were on hand to receive a National Achievement award from The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada. Three of their songs; `Janine’, `General Hand Grenade’ and `Raise A Little Hell’ each earned McGuire and Smith classic music awards for racking up more than 100,000 airplays nationally. Bruce Cockburn was on hand to receive a Lifetime Achievement Award and Zimmerman claimed an International Achievement Award.

Music awards also went to Three Days Grace for `Lost In You’, Michael Buble for `Hollywood’, K’naan for `The Lazy Song’, JRDN in the urban music category and John Reid for `Let’s Go Higher’ in the songwriter’s category. The event, hosted by Seamus O’Regan featured live performances by Danny Fernandes and Hawksley Workman performed at the ceremonies along with Young Rascal and Serena Ryder.

Photography by: Ted Van Boort

Related posts

Comments are closed.