Euro Dates Highlight Scenic Route To Alaska LP Release

Edmonton-based indie rock trio Scenic Route to Alaska are set to release their new LP Tough Luck on March 9 via popTrip Records. The album features the single “Slow Down” which hit #1 on the CBC Radio 3 Top 30 late last year. SRTA worked once again with famed producer Howard Redekopp (Tegan & Sara, The New Pornographers) at the legendary recording studio The Warehouse in Vancouver to produce an album that picks up where its heralded predecessor left off. The new album succeeds in capturing the band’s tight and dynamic live sound with an organic and honest production that’s instantly engaging but begging to be heard again and again. Tough Luck sees the band effortlessly weaving catchy vocals and memorable melodies through rich arrangements and promises to build upon the impressive pile of accolades and accomplishments from their last release. A new single and video will be released in the coming weeks.
Lyrically, Scenic Route to Alaska tackle the unique lifestyle they share as touring musicians, contemplating themes like self-inflicted loneliness, fleeting relationships, and the ever-fine balance between the road and real life. While this sometimes inspires a sense of bleakness, overall, the band’s energy and buoyancy paints an overall picture of optimism and understanding.
Tough Luck comes on the heels of critically-acclaimed Long Walk Home which amassed 1.7 million streams on Spotify and garnered the trio 2 nominations (Recording of the Year and Best Rock Artist) at last year’s Western Canadian Music Awards and won them 4 awards (Album of the Year / Group of the Year / Pop Recording of the Year / Indie Rock Recording of the Year) at the 2017 Edmonton Music Awards. They also enjoyed radio success with their single “Love Keeps” having reached #1 on the CBC Radio 2 Top 20, #21 on the Canada Alternative Rock Charts reaching an audience of over 4 Million people through commercial radio plays. The band also received placement for their single “Coming Back” in TV Spots (Edmonton Tourism & Global News) and in a new BBC show Clique.

Scenic Route to Alaska consisting of longtime friends Trevor Mann (lead vocals and guitar), Shea Connor (drums, and Murray Wood (bass) started making music together in their early teens practicing together, first on a slew of R&B and rock ‘n roll covers for wedding gigs and hall shows. Before long, they were in high demand and being tapped as something of a session band for an array of local artists from a myriad of genres. Then, in 2010, well versed in the scene and familiar with virtually every venue in the city, the three close friends adopted the Scenic Route to Alaska moniker and their original and organic take on folk-inspired indie pop was seeded. Their early releases belied the youth of the band and its members, owing to their years of making music together and tight-knit friendship. The attention and accolades poured in and earned them performances at prestigious events like the Edmonton and Canmore Folk Festivals and CMW and shows alongside contemporaries like Hey Rosetta!, Said the Whale, and Born Ruffians.
On stage, Scenic Route to Alaska’s energy is palpable and the fun contagious. Always locked in with a syncopation that can only stem from a collective history, the band bounces from ballads to bangers with ease, leaving a lasting impression on any kind of audience in front of them. Admirably, the new album stays true to the band’s exciting live performances, that will be of particular benefit come their packed touring schedule in early 2018, which includes a slot at SXSW and a host of dates throughout North America, Europe, and Australia. The band is perhaps best defined through dichotomy: young but mature, curious but collected, accessible but substantial. Such balance is all too rare in this scene, but thankfully, Scenic Route to Alaska strikes it with a style all their own.
More information on the band’s upcoming release will be announced in the coming weeks. Additional tour dates will be added soon.
Tour Dates: 
01.27 – Prince George, BC @ Cold Snap Festival
03.08 – Jasper, AB @ Jasper Legion
03.09 – Kelowna, BC @ Fernando’s
03.10 – Golden, BC @ Kicking Horse
03.14-17 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
03.23 – Rossland, BC @ Steamshovel
03.24 – Panorama, BC @ Panorama Mountain Resort
04.03 – Portland, OR @ White Eagle
04.06 – Calgary, AB @ The Den
04.07 – Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room
04.18 – Montreal, QC @ Quai des Brumes
04.19 – Ottawa, ON @ House of Targ
04.20 – Orillia, ON @ Roots North Festival
04.21 – Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall
04.22 – St. Catharines, ON @ Warehouse
04.25 – Chicago, IL @ The Elbo Room
04.28 – New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall
05.02-05 – Halifax, NS @ East Coast Music Awards
05.10 – Breda, NL @ Mezz
05.11 – Hardewijk, NL @ Catharinakapel
05.12 – Mainz, GER @ Schon Schön
05.16 – Berlin, GER @ Musik und Frieden
05.18 – Köln, GER @ Blue Shell
05.22 – Hannover, GER @ Ruby Tuesday @ Cafe Glocksee
05.25 – Stuttgart, GER @ Keller Klub
05.27 – Aarau, CH @ Tuchlaube

Related posts